Skip to product information
1 of 2


Chronicles Vol.3 - Kim Gordon

Chronicles Vol.3 - Kim Gordon

Regular price £18.00
Regular price Sale price £18.00
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

The tract developments are emulations of utopian communities. Going back to the 1920’s utopian cult Kibbo Kift made banners that they took to specific locations of historic, mysterious monuments and natural monument occurances, Silbury Hill, Stonehenge. The real estate developments around Los Angeles are not mysterious but can be branded as such. An escape from the city life, with names that connote a natural preserve, such as Hidden Hills, Golden Valley, Garden Paradise Estates. Even though they all reside within the smog polluted skies that everyone in the Los Angeles basin does, they poke the desire for utopian living in nature, a simpler time. How to forget about technology, automation and the consequences of our hyper technological age. The signage is placed outside the entrance like the banners of Kibbo Kift, which they would make and bring ceremoniously to these natural or historic places. If one meditates on it maybe it will become real, transposing the desire for escape and living unfettered in paradise, “getting back to the garden...” as Joni Mitchell would say. Kim Gordon

Chronicles Vol.3
combines Kim Gordon's Real Estate Paintings with staged canvases photographed by Josephine Pryde in vacant apartments and offices in and around Kriens and Lucerne. The photos, which were taken using purely analog technology, create a disturbing and enraptured atmosphere.

Kim Gordon is an American musician, singer and songwriter, best known as the bassist, guitarist, and vocalist of Sonic Youth. In addition to her work as a musician, Gordon has had ventures in record producing, fashion (X-Girl), writing, acting, directing and has worked consistently as a visual artist throughout her musical career. She formed Sonic Youth with Thurston Moore, Lee Renaldo and Richard Edson in 1981. Gordon is also a founding member of the musical project Free Kitten, which she formed with Julia Cafritz in 1993.

32 Pages
16 x 22.5 cm
Color Offset
First Edition 2022


Shipping & Returns

Instore Purchases

You have 14 days to return your purchase. Items must be in their original packaging and new  condition. Please provide us with a copy of your receipt or bank statement as a proof of purchase. We can offer an exchange if you no longer have the receipt. 

Online Orders

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase please let us know at:

Return the item(s) to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt. Once your goods are accepted back in stock you will be issued with a refund within 7 working days.

Please note that we do not cover the delivery cost of any returns.

View full details